Why Does New Hampshire Not Have a Seat Belt Law

Who Can Draw up a Purchase Agreement
Woodstock Police Collective Agreement
Show all

FACT: The unlooped driver and passenger pose a serious threat to the other occupants of the vehicle, as well as to the driver who is trying to maintain control of the vehicle. Studies have found that the probability of death of an attached driver sitting directly in front of an unbridled passenger in a serious head-on collision was 2.27 times higher than when sitting in front of a reserved passenger. Unsealed rear passengers are called “rear seat projectiles” because of the dangers and destruction they cause. Since 1975, seat belts have saved an estimated 374,276 lives, including 14,955 in 2017 alone, according to the National Security Council. Despite public relations, Haynes is frustrated that the statistics have remained fairly stable over the past five years. “If you look at state-to-state death rates,” Russ said, “you see that the higher rates tend to be in the Midwest and the West, where you have fewer urban areas and greater distances on more dangerous two-lane high-speed roads. You don`t have these huge areas in New Hampshire, and your population density tends to be concentrated in the southern half of the state, in urban areas. As a result, New Hampshire`s roads are less dangerous than in many other states. Fiction: New Hampshire doesn`t need a seat belt law. Primary seat belt laws give law enforcement an excuse to stop motorists even when no other offenses have been committed, which could increase minority profiling. “Hitting a tree at 40 mph is equivalent to hitting a car at 80 mph because the tree doesn`t give way,” Russo said. “When the airbag fired, this hand hit the window and it broke three bones here. In the end, I had 15 screws and two plates in this hand.

[My right arm] flew through the air and basically put my wrist back to about 40 degrees, so they had to go in and they cut me off where they reset everything. “Let`s put it in place and give law enforcement the tools they need to enforce it,” Russo said. “Seat belts and airbags work, they don`t do it for free, but they work.” If you`re 18 or older, you don`t need to wear a seat belt in New Hampshire. New Hampshire is the only state in the United States where adults do not have to buckle up. Most seat belt laws in the United States are left to the states and territories. However, the first seat belt law was a federal law, Title 49 of the United States Code, Chapter 301, Motor Safety Standard, which came into effect on January 1, 1968, requiring that all vehicles (except buses) be equipped with seat belts in all designated seating positions. [1] This law has since been amended to require three-point seat belts in outdoor positions and finally three-point seat belts in all seated positions. [2] Initially, seat belt use was voluntary. New York was the first state to pass a law requiring vehicle occupants to wear seat belts, a law that went into effect on December 1, 1984. New Hampshire is the only state that does not have enforceable laws for wearing seat belts in a vehicle. [3] 4 In Kansas, Maryland, and New Jersey, the law is a secondary application for rear seat occupants (18 years and older in Kansas).5 These states score points in their own driving records for seat belt violations.6 In California, an additional penalty of $29 is imposed on every $10 or a fraction of it, of each fine, penalty or confiscation imposed and confiscated by the criminal court. including all traffic offences, with the exception of parking offences within the meaning of paragraph (i) of section 1463 of the Criminal Code.

The additional penalty is calculated as follows: $10 STATE penalty of PC 1464 required, county penalty of $7 required under GC 76000(e), $5 penalty for courthouse construction required under GC 70372(a), $5 DNA Fund penalty required under GC 76104.6 and 76104.7, $2 penalty for emergency medical services required under GC 76000.5. In addition, section 1465.8 of the Criminal Code requires the collection of an additional $40 fee for judicial security on each conviction for a criminal offence, including a traffic offence, with the exception of parking offences within the meaning of section 1463 of the Criminal Code. In addition, GC 70373 requires a $35 sentence for criminal institutions. “To live free or to die a man. That`s how it is, if you`re stupid enough not to put on your seat belt, it`s all up to you. “You shake your head, no, you don`t wear your seat belt, why is that? Although only 23.6% of NH motorists do not wear seat belts, 70% of NH road fatalities were uninhibited drivers or passengers. Fiction: I don`t need a seat belt if I don`t travel far and walk slowly. Education, not a law, is the best way to increase seat belt use. A law alone will not change the minds of those who do not currently buckle up.

Seat belt laws distract law enforcement from focusing their attention on more serious crimes, such as speeding or distracted driving. There is no anti-seat belt lobby, and it is difficult to argue that seat belts are not effective. But opponents of seat belt legislation will argue that it`s simply not up to the government to make you wear your seat belt. In keeping with New Hampshire`s libertarian vein, many Granite Staters prefer to defend their right to reckless behavior. Since 2009, when the last seat belt law was proposed in New Hampshire, 431 uninhibited people were killed on state roads until 2016. More recently, in 2018, a bill was introduced to introduce a seat belt law in New Hampshire. Do you have a question about your community or something you`ve always asked yourself about the state of granite? Submit it here on our Only in NH project page, and we could introduce it into an upcoming story! New Hampshire has a seat belt law that requires people under the age of 18 to wear a seat belt when driving or driving a car. It also stipulates that passengers under the age of seven must be restrained by a child restraint system – such as a booster seat – with specific rules from the federal government. The provision does not apply if the child is 57 inches tall or older.

Thomas is convinced that one of the ways to reduce this rate is to: “. Do things like wear a seat belt. Most of the people I approached on the street had no opinion on seat belt laws. They clarified their views on the ground, how most of us make political decisions, and the state motto is a useful rubric in these moments. “And New Hampshire has a reputation for being the free living state or dying, you know.” The federal government strongly encourages states to pass primary or secondary seat belt laws, but does not require it, citing statistics showing higher mortality rates among unrestricted drivers. Supporters of the measure, known as HB 1622, believe it will significantly reduce the number of deaths on the roads. An estimated 26 people in New Hampshire would have survived collisions last year if they had worn seat belts, according to the report. “It`s not about tickets, it`s not about warnings, it`s about having something in the books that`s legal in black and white so we can legally arrest someone and let them know that this is what you need to do, that`s what you should do for your safety, and so your family doesn`t knock on the door.” Grieco said. FACT: The majority of fatal accidents occur within a 25-mile radius of the home, within 40 mph (NHTSA). Fiction: New Hampshire has fulfilled a small seat belt requirement to ensure the safety of our children.

U.S. seat belt laws may be subject to primary or secondary application. The main app allows a law enforcement officer to stop and punish a driver if they discover an offence. Secondary enforcement means that a peace officer can only stop or summon a driver for seat belt violation if the driver has simultaneously committed another predicate offence (p.B speeding, passing a stop sign, etc.). .